CME Beef Industry Scholarship

Sponsored by 

Applications Now for the 2018-2019 CME Group Beef Industry Scholarships!

The Beef Industry Scholarship was introduced in 1989 through Live Cattle Futures Contract on the CME Group. The National Cattlemen’s Foundation and CME Group are committed to the future of the cattle industry and continue to recognize and support outstanding youth in the beef community. The tradition remains strong today, each year a total of ten $1,500.00 scholarships are awarded to students pursuing careers in the beef industry.  

Conditions of Eligibility
Applicants must be a graduating high school senior or full-time undergraduate student enrolled at a two or four-year institution for the 2018-2019 school years. 

Applicants must have demonstrated a commitment to a career in the beef industry through classes, internships or life experiences.

Previous scholarship winners are eligible to apply in subsequent years.

Apply Now

Applications will close November 15. For questions, please contact us at (303) 694-0305 or

"The National Cattlemen's Foundation advances the future of the beef industry with passion and urgency.”

2017-18 CME Group Beef Industry Scholarship Winners 

Ten outstanding college students will be awarded $1,500 CME Beef Industry Scholarships at the 2017 Cattle Industry Convention & NCBA Trade Show in Nashville, Tenn. The scholarship is sponsored by the CME Group and administered by the National Cattlemen’s Foundation.

Overall Winner

In addition to the $1,500 scholarship, Taylre Sitz receives a trip to Nashville, Tenn., for the 2017 Cattle Industry Convention & NCBA Trade Show where she will be recognized at the Best of Beef Awards Breakfast. Sitz currently attends Montana State University where she is pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science, as well as a minor in Business Administration. She is currently enrolled in the pre-veterinary program with plans to become a large animal veterinarian.


Other 2017 CME Scholarship Winners

Thor Burnside
Fort Hays State University
Talala, OK

Cole Grisham
West Texas A&M University
Van Vleck, TX

Emily Ivey
Lake Land College
Loudon, TN

Dan Johnson
Kansas State University
Dillion, MT

Abby Marion
University of Florida 
Deltona, FL

Garrett Nichols
Iowa State University
Marshalltown, IA

Shelby Schiefelbein
Texas A&M University
Kimball, MN

Madison Slaven
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA

Rachel Waggie
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS